In a clash of pulsating indie-beats and billowing soundscapes, Danish Røgsignal (Smoke Signal) have created their very own instrumental universe. The songs are equally inspired by modern indie rock and a homesickness towards the deserted roads of rural Denmark. The biggest, Danish music magazine, GAFFA, describes how “there is both longing and melancholy to the overall impression and expression. Something dreamy and unexplainable. Beautiful and soothing.”

The release of the bands debut album, Pletter På Solen (Sunspots, 2016) resulted in great attention in the band’s home country: Packed concerts at the largest, Danish jazz festivals and venues, raving reviews and steady rotation on Danish National Radio.

Since then, the band has been touring all over Denmark, while also releasing two music videos to accompany the album. Simultaneously a lot of ideas and inspirations have been merging into new music, where the first single 1977 received lots of international attention and ended up on the official Fresh Finds: Six Strings Spotify playlist with 30k+ followers. The new single answers. was recently released and together they mark the first steps into a rich, experimental soundscape.

The new music is produced by Anders Boll (Lowly, Efterklang m.fl.), who has been working closely with the band on finishing the new album Bodies, that will be out in the spring of 2019.

“The band’s sound has been described as fusion jazz incorporating different sounds and influences from Denmark and the wider world of music. It works like magic…”  – Nick Davies, All About Jazz. June 2017 about Pletter På Solen.

“A convincing demonstration that young, Danish jazz is neither dead, smells funny or in any way lagging”  – Henrik Palle, Politiken (The biggest newspaper in Denmark). November 2018 on a live show on national radio.

Røgsignal is:
Jakob Lauritsen – Rhodes // Nikolaj Bugge – Guitar // Henrik Lauritsen – Bass // Jonas Møller Andreasen – Drums